Wrestling for the blessing

I want to share with you an excerpt from a devotional book I am going through (again). It is called Igniting Faith in 40 Days by Steve and Wendy Backlund. They have some excellent revelation from the scriptures that will really help you tap into who God is and how he sees you. The following one is particularly good.

“How would God choose to bless this person who would not take “no” for an answer? Money? A long life? A new camel? Victory of his enemies? A resolving of a difficult matter? No, his blessing was a revelation of this real name, his true identity. His name would no longer be Jacob, but it would be Israel (Prince With God). His blessing was this: he would receive a new sense of who he was – which would produce a change in his thoughts and vocabulary about himself. This, in turn, would cause a change in his actions and destiny.

The implications of this are revolutionary! One of the greatest things we can get from God is a new sense of who we really are. Once we call ourselves what God calls us, we will accelerate down the road of transformation.

We must move past just wanting God to fix our problems or to just have His blessing and anointing. We must get a hold of Him in our spirit and say, “I am not going to let You go until You bless with me a true understanding of who I really am in You.” Once this happens, everything changes.”

If you are anything like me this both stirs your heart and challenges your motives. My heart is stirred because I know that a true understanding of who God says I am really does change everything. But I also have to examine myself and ask if that true understanding is really all I want. Would I rather have the tangible blessing I can touch today or the blessing that allows me to see rightly?

We all know the answer but are we willing to wrestle for that blessing? Will you wrestle for that true understanding knowing that your circumstances might not change? Let us go for it and not be a people who settle for dollar store rewards when true gold is what God intends.

One thought on “Wrestling for the blessing

Leave a comment